Clean Eating Day 11

(This blog includes recipes for Crock Pot Beef Taco Salad)

Today was a day of temptations! I was away all day at an event – which was a catered event. Now some of you are going to think what I did was a little over the top and, honestly, I agree with you. However, because this is only a 14 day challenge, I thought I need to stick to this 100% and give it my all, even when it’s inconvenient. So after these 2 weeks, while I will still try to eat clean and healthily, I know there will be days that it is more practical to not – or days of going out for meals. However, today…I packed my own bread, so transferred the fillings from the catered sandwich to my own. I made my own flapjack last night and brought that with me instead of eating the store bought kind. I brought plain raisins instead of eating chocolate covered raisins. And I ate a healthy, clean, banana bread bar instead of a Krispy Kreme donut that was bought for me. I also resisted the temptation when a certain friend literally trying to force feed me store bought flapjack! Granted…it’s not all that tempting to eat something from someone else’s fingers while being shoved into your lips!

BREAKFAST: Homemade Granola and Milk

SNACK: Smoothie
This was so good to have today. While everyone else was munching on chocolate covered raisins and goodies, this kept me full but also satisfied any sweetness craving.

LUNCH: Sandwich, flapjack, fruit
Ham and lettuce on my own wholewheat bread. My homemade flapjack, and thankfully they did cater in fresh fruit kebabs!

SNACK: Banana Bread Bar

Banana Bread Bar

Banana Bread Bar


My mother-in-law bought me these for this week, which was very kind of her! She searched Tesco to try to find some type of “clean” snack! And they are, there is nothing “unclean” in the ingredients.

DINNER: Crock Pot Beef Taco Salad

I got the basic idea for this recipe from Eat, Live, Run, but adapted it for my own use. This recipe is for actual tacos, but I didn’t have any wraps on hand, so I just turned it into a salad.  Here is the recipe I used and this was enough for 2 people. It might be enough for 3-4 when you add in the wrap calories, but they would probably be smaller portions.

Crock Pot Beef Taco Salad

Ingredients
-1 Tbsp chili powder
-1 1/2 tsp cumin or smoked cumin
-1/2 tsp onion powder
-1/4 tsp garlic powder
-1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, or to taste
-1 tsp salt
-300g Rump Steak
-1 green bell pepper
-Lettuce
-Cheese

Directions
1. Mix all the spices together then rub into each side of the steak. Use all the mixture. Place the spice covered steak into the bottom of a crock pot.
2. Add in peppers (and onions and jalapenos if desired).
3. Cook for 7-8 hours on low.
4. Once cooked, remove the steak and shred with two forks.
5. Serve as desired – hard tacos, soft tacos, salad. Top with desired elements – cheese, salsa, veggies, etc

Notes
-I have a bad habit of not properly measuring spices when cooking, I tend to just go on what looks good. But that is partially the point of spices, so the measurements are adjustable depending on your taste buds!
-I used Rump Steak, but you can use almost any kind of steak. Because it’s done in a crockpot, even the typically tougher meat cuts will be just fine!
-If you use a lean meat, you may need to add a bit of beef stock so that it doesn’t dry out during cooking.
-Once you’ve shredded the meat, you can serve immediately, or return it to the crock pot for up to a few hours until you are ready to serve
-I would add in the green pepper later in the cooking. I’m sure it added some extra flavouring to the meat, but I found they were just a bit too mushy for my taste with a full 8 hours in there.

Leave a comment