Clean Eating Day 12

(This post includes recipe for Curried Coconut Chicken)

 

Well it’s Valentine’s Day and I have to let you know – I allowed myself a cheat today! I mean, what is valentine’s without chocolate!! But, I found the darkest chocolate I could – which didn’t have much sugar in it – and then I actually didn’t end up eating much of it.  But I’m very proud to say this is the first REAL and intentional cheat I’ve done. I think I could have easily have made it another 2 days without any chocolate or sugar, I wasn’t really craving it, but we thought we’d have a nice chocolate fondue…and obviously you need chocolate for that!

So other than that…here is the rest of the day

BREAKFAST: Homemade Granola & Yoghurt

LUNCH: Leftover Butternut Squash Lasagna Roll-Ups.

These were just as good reheated. I chose to reheat them in the oven so that the crispy bits stayed crispy (as in the cheese that gets crispy while cooking).

DINNER: Curried Coconut Chicken

I definitely played with this recipe. The original is from Bless This Mess, but due to personal taste…and forgetting to get a few things in…I adapted! I think it tasted brilliant, the only thing I would have to adjust is that it ended up a little runnier, so I would need to add in bits to thicken in up a bit!

Curried Coconut Chicken

Ingredients
-3 Tbsp oil (peanut, olive, coconut)
-2 Tbsp curry powder
-1 Tbsp, plus 1 tsp garam masala, divided (didn’t have this so, but would try to find it next time)
-1/2 tsp onion powder
-1/2 tsp garlic powder
-2 chicken breasts cut into bit sized pieces
-1 14oz can coconut milk
-1/2 cup tomato passata
-1 cup chicken broth
-1/2 tsp salt

Directions
1. In a large dutch oven or stock pot (although I only used a skillet), heat the oil and curry powder and 1 Tbsp garam masala over a medium heat.  Cook for 5 minutes. If it starts to stick to the pan, add in a bit more oil, you do not want it to burn. Add the onion and garlic powder and cook for an additional 5 minutes – if it starts to stick, add a bit of oil.
2. Add the chicken and cook until it is no longer pink in the centre.
3 Add the coconut milk, passata, broth and salt. Stir it all in to combine is evenly.
4. Cook at a low simmer until the mixture thickens – about 45 minutes to an hour. 5 minutes before serving stir in the last tsp of garam masala.
5. Serve over hot rice

Notes
-The original uses a can of diced tomatoes rather than passata, as well it adds in squash pieces and cherries.  I didn’t have any of these…but I don’t like tomatoes anyway..so I improvised.
-Because there was nothing to help absorb some of the liquid, I added in about 2 tsp of cornflour to help thicken it slightly.
-Curry flavours get better the longer they have to cook, so simmer it as long as possible! And reheating left overs the next day will have even better flavours.

Leave a Reply

