Clean Eating Day 2

(This post contains Spicy Roasted Chickpeas, Turkey Sandwich, Crock Pot Potatoes)

Tuesdays are CRAZY busy for me. Especially now as I am starting into rehearsal season! That being said, I don’t have much time on a Tuesday to prep or plan any meals.  So today’s post is nice and simple with only 2 recipes for my day.

Breakfast: Homemade Granola with whole milk
Got to put that homemade granola from yesterday to the test and it was/is delicious!! I even packed some for a snack later on!!

Lunch:Turkey Sandwich, with carrots and spicy roasted chickpeas

Turkey Sandwich

Turkey Sandwich


Turkey Sandwich is just as it sounds! Just 2 slices of Turkey, 4 thin slices of cheddar, some lettuce and…well I have to confess… I cheated slightly in that I put the smallest squirt of Mustard on it. If I’d thought of it before I only had like 2 minutes before I had to leave for work I would have put something else on it – like butter or (when I get around to make it) homemade mayo. But I’m not too worried about that cheat.  I also chopped up about half a carrot. The roasted chickpeas I made last night and James and I had some, but I made them after I posted so I figured I would just add them today!  They are great, much better than I expected! Although they are VERY crunchy – and I may have annoyed at least one person while munching on them at lunch time (granted we share an office so there is plenty of, good-natured, annoying going on regularly).  I found the roasting recipe from pinterest (here’s that original recipe from It Doesn’t Taste Like Chicken) and then just added my own seasonings.

Spicy Roasted Chickpeas

Ingredients
-1 tin of chickpeas
-Olive oil
-Salt
-Smoked Paprika
-Hot chili powder

Directions
1. Drain and wash chickpeas. Place on a baking sheet, making sure they are only one layer.  Put into an 350F oven for about 30 minutes. This should make them dry and crunchy and not have a yucky mushy centre. Add a bit more time if needed. This is dry roasting them.

2. Once they are all fairly hard, put into a bowl and put only a tiny amount of olive oil in with them, just enough to lightly coat. Then sprinkle in your seasonings to taste. Give it a good shake/stir around, then put them back on the tray and bake for another 10-15 minutes. Mine started popping around in the oven at about 12 minutes…so I figured that was a good time to take them out.

3. Cool and eat!!

Notes
I found that they are not all the same crispiness. Some of them remained slightly chewy. I don’t have a solution for this as they were all in the oven for the same amount of time. Most of them are very crunchy anyway, so just avoid the chewy ones if you don’t like them.

I don’t have any exact measures for anything here. It really is just to personal taste. You could probably make a sweet toffee ones as well. If you experiment, let me know what you did!

Spicy Roasted Chickpeas

Spicy Roasted Chickpeas

Dinner: Crock Pot Potatoes

I found this recipe on pinterest awhile back (here is the link to the original recipe from Skip to my Lou), and have already been using it for quite some time. Baked Potatoes are delicious, but they do take at least an hour in the oven.  This is just stick some potatoes in the crock pot, turn on and leave for 8 hours! Unfortunately I’ve only done this on days that I am quite busy and very hungry when I get home, but I would like to try popping them in the oven for a few minutes just to crisp up the skin a bit, but either way they are still delicious.

Crock Pot Potatoes

Ingredients
-As many potatoes as fit in your crockpot

Directions
1. Wrap potatoes in tin foil.

2. Put in Crock pot, turn temperature to low

3. Leave for 8 hours.

4. Enjoy Baked Potatoes. Add whatever toppings you desire.

Notes
It really couldn’t be much more simple. And more often than not the crock pot is totally clean after cooking, so there isn’t a mess to clean up either!

Leave a comment