Vegetable Garden

Veggies in Pots

Veggies in Pots

So I think I may have been bitten by the gardening bug….let’s hope my gardening genetics don’t come from my mom though…or I’m about to kill a lot of plants!  I still don’t really like flowers..they’re nice in other people’s gardens…but I can’t be bothered with them, and I’m more for simplicity and practicality!  So veggies it is!

This is two-fold. I think it will be a fun little project, but the plan is that this substitutes buying veggies from other people (stores).  It seems to me a lot easy to walk out to a garden and pick what you need then going to a shop and buying it from who knows where.

So…this will be my attempt at planting a vegetable garden!  My handsome man is going to build me a little enclosed garden area (since we have a concrete courtyard…obviously we need to start with some dirt!).  But most of the seeds I purchased suggest planting indoors first, so I started that today (aside from a couple that say sow directly).

My garden will consist of
-Tomatoes (I hate tomatoes – so does James, but I can use them to make sauces)
-Peppers
-Carrots
-Kale
-Lettuce
-Green Beans
-Broccoli
-Cucumber
-Spinach

And of course the pumpkins I started last week (nothing new on them yet…apparently they are “germinating” according to the package).

I’ve also got a few herbs started that I’d like to grow on the trellises
-Dill
-Parsley
-Coriander
-Chives
-Basil
And I’ll decide on probably about 3 more in the next few days.

 

Can’t wait!! One day when we have our own place…or at least a place with a decent garden space I would LOVE to have a proper vegetable garden/greenhouse that could actually supply our fruit and veggie needs…but I guess we’ll see how this goes first!

Since I’ve never done this before…anybody who has planted their own veggie garden…your thoughts and input are very welcome! Especially with what plant can/do grow vertical, which ones take over gardens and need space and/or any other helpful tid-bits!

I’ll keep you posted!

2 thoughts on “Vegetable Garden

  1. You’re right about my gardening skills!!! When I would admire some plants in the garden centers, your Dad would say, “Leave them here Chris – let them live!” You know that if you have carrots they need depth! James is going to have to build a pretty deep bed of soil on that concrete!! 🙂 Love you xx

  2. Hey my girl…Dad here. Back in my hippie days (70s) I had an organic garden. One thing I learned was to carefully consider the space needed for the GROWN plant. Certain veggies really take over the real estate like pumpkins, cucumbers and anything viney. Even tomatoes are a challenge unless you aggressively tie them up to wires or wood structures. Additionally make sure when seeds germinate to thin them out to recommended distances otherwise veggies will be small.

    Anyway just some thoughts to help you with this neat project.

    Love yah Dad Sent from my iPhone >

Leave a Reply

