Chicken Chorizo Paella

Chicken Paella

Chicken Paella

It was recommended to me a few weeks back to make a Paella dish. I’ve seen this on some of those cooking shows before – but they always seem to layer it up with fish…and I hate fish, so I’d never really considered making it.  Then a lady from church told me about a recipe that she used – and there was no fish in it – so I decided to give it a try. Now admitted, I can’t remember the recipe she actually said to me, but I just googled and looked around at a few other blogs until I found one that looked like it could be pretty tasty.

It was super quick, super easy, and I could see this becoming a regular dish! James liked it too…although he’s not much of a food critic for me – he basically eats anything I give him and I don’t remember hearing him say he hasn’t liked anything (even when I think it’s been awful!).

Here is the recipe I found on BBC Good Food, and below is my slightly altered version.

Chicken Chorizo Paella

Ingredients
500g chicken breasts (either chop them up small or get mini fillets)
1 cup rice
2 cups chicken broth
2 carrots (chopped)
1/2 medium sized broccoli (chopped)
1 red pepper (chopped)
Garlic Powder
Onion Powder
Thyme
115g Chopped Chorizo

Directions

1. In a large frying pan, cook the chicken on medium high heat. Once it is browned add in a bit of onion powder, garlic powder and thyme. Let cook for a minute or so.

2. Add the rice, stock, and chorizo to the chicken. Bring to a boil then cover and let sit for about 10-15 minutes.

3. Add in the vegetables and cook uncovered for another 10ish minutes on medium to high until the liquid is absorbed by the rice.

 

Notes
I used garlic and onion powder as it’s what I had, but you could use an chopped onion and minced garlic if you prefer.

 

Then I made chocolate cheesecake for dessert…recipe to come later!

Leave a Reply

