Clean Eating Day 5

(Recipes in this blog include Rose Chicken Penne)

Today has been another fairly simple day, which I like. I’ve prepped earlier in the week so that I’m not super busy at the end of the week. Especially with the Winter Olympics are starting, I want to spend less time in the kitchen and more time in front of the TV (preferably with a bag of crisps and maybe some cake…but we’re working on that!).

BREAKFAST: You guessed it – Homemade Yoghurt & Granola 

I made this yoghurt on Monday, and from Tuesday-Friday it has been used by both James and myself every morning for breakfast and there is still about 1/4 of the bowl left!  Essentially it only costs £2 (the price of milk…I’ve got the yoghurt now), and it will last about a week for daily breakfast use + snacks + recipe use! That’s cost effective! And yummy!

LUNCH: Poached eggs on Toast

Simple, healthy, and yummy. I used wholemeal/wheat bread – so no refined/processed flour there. And eggs just cooked in boiling water. Simple, and satisfying

DINNER: Rose Chicken Penne

This was so super tasty! The original recipe by Back to Her Roots is a Rose Shrimp Penne, but I don’t like shrimp or mushrooms, so I just adjusted accordingly. I’ll give you my recipe and if you’re a shrimp and mushroom eater, check out the original. I also only made it for 2…but there is enough leftovers for 1 person to have leftovers

Rose Chicken Penne

Rose Chicken Penne

Rose Chicken Penne


Ingredients

-Whole wheat penne (enough for 2 at least 2)
-1 Tbsp Olive Oil
-1 tsp garlic powder
-4 cups fresh spinach (I used baby spinach)
-2 good sized chicken breasts, cut into bite sized pieces
-250ml (or to taste) Passata (make sure the only ingredients are Tomatoes…no sneaky flavourings or preservatives).
-1/3 cup plain Greek Yoghurt
-Grated Parmesan Cheese

Directions
1. Cook penne according to package directions, omitting salt and fat. Drain and set aside.
2. In a large skillet heat the olive oil over medium-low heat. Add in the garlic powder and let heat for just a minute or two
3.Turn heat up to medium-high and add in the chicken pieces to your skillet. Cook for a few minutes until the chicken is cooked through. Remove from heat and then add in the spinach and cover skillet. The spinach needs about 2 minutes to wilt.
4. Remove the lid or cover and place back onto a low heat. Add into the skillet the penne, Greek Yoghurt, and Passata (or a basic marinara sauce will do). Stir until everything is mixed well and coated with the sauce. Heat until it is warmed through.
5. Divide in to bowls and add some Parmesan on top!

Notes
The original recipe also adds in mushrooms and tomatoes after the garlic powder…but neither James or I like those, so I just omitted completely!
The recipe indicates to cook the pasta first then set aside, I don’t know if it makes a difference but I cooked it as I was cooking the other bits so it was ready by the time I needed to add it to the chicken and it tasted just fine doing it this way – as long as you can multi-task a bit.

Leave a Reply

